Human Rights Council

The Council is made of 47 Member States, which are elected by the majority of members of the General Assembly of the United Nations through direct and secret ballot. The General Assembly takes into account the candidate States' contribution to the promotion and protection of human rights, as well as their voluntary pledges and commitments in this regard.

The Council's Membership is based on equitable geographical distribution. Seats are distributed as follows:

African States: 13 seats
Asian States: 13 seats

3. Latin American and Caribbean States: 8 seats4. Western European and other States: 7 seats

5. Eastern European States: 6 seats

<u>Members of the Council</u> serve for a period of three years and are not eligible for immediate re-election after serving two consecutive terms.

COUNTRY		
	TERM EXPIRES ON	
Angola	2013	
Austria	2014	
Bangladesh	2012	
Belgium	2012	
Benin	2014	
Botswana	2014	
Burkina Faso	2014	
Cameroon	2012	
Chile	2014	
China	2012	
Congo	2014	
Costa Rica	2014	
Cuba	2012	
Czech Republic	2014	
Djibouti	2012	
Ecuador	2013	
Guatemala	2013	
Hungary	2012	
India	2014	
Indonesia	2014	
Italy	2014	

Jordan	2012
Kuwait	2014
Kyrgyzstan	2012
Libya <u>*</u>	2013
Malaysia	2013
Maldives	2013
Mauritania	2013
Mauritius	2012
Mexico	2012
Nigeria	2012
Norway	2012
Peru	2014
Philippines	2014
Poland	2013
Qatar	2013
Republic of Moldova	2013
Romania	2014
Russian Federation	2012
Saudi Arabia	2012
Senegal	2012
Spain	2013
Switzerland	2013
Thailand	2013
Uganda	2013
United States of America	2012
Uruguay	2012

^{*} The rights of membership to the Human Rights Council of the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya were suspended by the General Assembly on 1 March 2011 and restored on 18 November 2011.

The <u>Bureau of the Council</u> consists of five people - one <u>President</u> and four Vice-presidents – representing the five regional groups. They serve for a year, in accordance with the Council's annual cycle.

Officers of the Human Rights Council's Sixth Cycle (20 June 2011 - 31 December 2012)

- H. E. Ms. Laura Dupuy LASSERRE, President of the Human Rights Council, Sixth Cycle (2011 2012)
- H.E. Mr. Anatole Fabien Marie NKOU (Cameroon), Vice-President
- H.E. Mr. András DÉKÁNY (Hungary), Vice-President
- H.E. Ms. Gulnara ISKAKOVA (Kyrgyzstan), Vice-President and Rapporteur
- H.E. Mr. Christian STROHAL (Austria), Vice-President